You are here:

LIHEAP Funds by Program Component

NOTE: The LIHEAP statute authorizes states to provide assistance to low-income households in meeting their home energy costs, intervene in energy crisis situations, and provide low-cost residential weatherization and other cost-effective energy-related home repair (up to 15 percent or 25 percent of the grant if a waiver is approved); it also allows states to spend no more than 10 percent of their grant for administrative purposes. Grantees are also allowed to carryover up to 10 percent of their grant to the next fiscal year. Beyond that, states decide what percent of their funds go to each program component and have the option to use up to 5 percent of funds for Assurance 16 activities. In some cases, state legislatures have mandated component expenditures. For example, state statutes in California, Pennsylvania and Virginia mandate the amount of the weatherization set aside from LIHEAP funds.

State FY % Funds Heat % Funds Cool % Funds Crisis % Funds Wx
Alabama
2019
36
30
15
5
Alaska
2019
66.5
0
9.5
5
American Samoa
2019
0
63
7
15
Arizona
2019
16.8
36.2
5
15
Arkansas
2019
40
15
15
15
California
2019
13
13
34
15
Colorado
2019
60
0
5
15
Connecticut
2019
55.69
0
31.47
1.7
Delaware
2019
61.8
10.6
5.9
10
District of Columbia
2019
50
13
10
15
Florida
2019
10.5
16
38
15
Georgia
2019
53.5
0
29
7
Hawaii
2019
50
5
15
10
Idaho
2019
61.92
0
3.06
15
Illinois
2019
47
0
15
15
Indiana
2019
48
10
13
9
Iowa
2019
58
0
7
15
Kansas
2019
65
0
10
15
Kentucky
2019
35
0
41.3
13.5
Louisiana
2019
30
35.5
10
12
Maine
2019
58
0
5
15
Maryland
2019
64
15
5
0
Massachusetts
2019
74.25
0
3
6.4
Michigan
2019
40
0
42
3
Minnesota
2019
52.5
0
25
4.5
Mississippi
2019
38
30
5
12
Missouri
2019
42
0
28
10
Montana
2019
69
0
3
15
Nebraska
2019
55
15
3
7
Nevada
2019
78
0
4
5
New Hampshire
2019
67
0
5
5
New Jersey
2019
60
4
6
15
New Mexico
2019
41
12
12
15
New York
2019
54
1
20
15
North Carolina
2019
37.14
0
37.86
15
North Dakota
2019
57
0.1
13.9
15
Ohio
2019
42.5
0
25
15
Oklahoma
2019
36
32
10
2
Oregon
2019
60
5
5
15
Pennsylvania
2019
50
0
25
15
Puerto Rico
2019
0
25
40
15
Rhode Island
2019
69.5
0
5
14
South Carolina
2019
20
15
25
15
South Dakota
2019
78
0
10
0
Tennessee
2019
51
17
10
10
Texas
2019
10
40
25
15
Utah
2019
65
0
10
15
Vermont
2019
61
0
9
15
Virginia
2019
45
12
8
15
Washington
2019
40.17
0
31
15
West Virginia
2019
58
5
5
15
Wisconsin
2019
59
0
9
15
Wyoming
2019
56
0
12
15

Source: FY 2019 state and territory LIHEAP plans

Archive:

2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018