NOTE: In addition to income, states may look at an applicant households' assets in determining financial eligibility for LIHEAP. The chart below lists eleven states that are currently using an assets test. Among the states, allowable assets range from a high of $25,000 to a low of $2,000. Several states allow higher assets for households with elderly members. States also have different definitions of assets. For more information on variations in assets tests, contact the LIHEAP Clearinghouse.

State FY Description
Arkansas 2022 (1)Any household, regardless of size, that has at least one member who is 60 or over during the month of application cannot have more than $3,250 in assets. The limit is $2,250 for all other households. (2) Renters whose utilities are included in rent payments must supply their lease agreements. (3)Maximum assets are higher for households with member who is 60 or over. (4) Applications are mailed to SNAP households where children under 6, elderly person, or a person with a disability lives prior to the LIHEAP winter program start date. Applicants are advised that applications are processed and paid on a first come basis.
2022 The liquid asset limit is $15,000 for homeowners and $12,000 for all other households. Households, whose liquid assets exceed the appropriate limit, may still be eligible for energy assistance if the household’s annual gross income, when added to the excess liquid assets is within the income guidelines.
2022 Each household's resources may not exceed $3,000.
2022 $10,931 for a single person, $16,400 for a two-person household. Add $1,094 for each additional member up to $21,870 maximum per household.
2022 Oklahoma has a liquid resource limit for LIHEAP households. This includes bank accounts, cash on hand, CDs, cryptocurrency, and other investments that can be accessed without penalty to the household. Resources are verified when screening of application indicates declaration of resources is questionable.

Archives: 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2022