NOTE: In addition to income, states may look at an applicant households' assets in determining financial eligibility for LIHEAP. The chart below lists eleven states that are currently using an assets test, including two that only use asset tests for crisis assistance. Among the states, allowable assets range from a high of $25,000 to a low of $2,000. Several states allow higher assets for households with elderly members. States also have different definitions of assets. For more information on variations in assets tests, contact the LIHEAP Clearinghouse.

State FY Description
Arkansas 2018 Higher maximum assets for elderly households.
2018 The liquid asset limit is $15,000 for homeowners and $12,000 for all other households. Households, whose liquid assets exceed the appropriate limit, may still be eligible for energy assistance if the household’s annual gross income, when added to the excess liquid assets is within the income guidelines.
2018 Eligible applicants may not have liquid resources in excess of $2,000 or $3,000 if the household has a member 60 or older or disabled, or $4,000 for a household with a member that has a catastrophic illness if those assets are used for medical and living expenses.
2018 Owners of 2nd real estate property (other than primary residence) may have to provide additional information.
2018 In order to qualify for crisis assistance, the household must use their available resources to resolve their own emergency, therefore, an asset test has been implemented. Special exemptions are allowed for deaf, disabled or blind, and qualified disabled veterans.
2018 Each household's resources may not exceed $3,000.
2018 $10,931 for a single person, $16,400 for a two-person household. Add $1,094 for each additional member up to $21,870 maximum per household.
New York
2018 Crisis only: Applicants with a household member age 60 or older have an asset test up to $3,000 rather than the $2,000 for all other applicants.
North Carolina
2018 Assets limit of $2,250. Ineligible aliens' assets shall be countable toward the household's total $2,250. No assets test for crisis.
North Dakota
2018 No household that has non-exempt real and personal property assets that exceed an equity value of $10,000, plus $5,000 for each household member 60 years of age and over, will be eligible to receive heating assistance.
2018 liquid resource limit for LIHEAP households. This includes bank accounts, cash on hand, CDs, and other investments that can be accessed without penalty to the household.
2018 Assets test for crisis.