Utility Moratoriums Now in Effect in Some States

October 23, 2020 – As the winter months approach, some state’s utility moratoriums are going into effect to protect low-income utility customers from having disconnects during winter conditions. Minnesota’s “Cold Weather Rule,” for example, went into effect Oct 15 to protect low-income utility customers from disconnections during the cold, winter months.

Moratoriums in each state are either date-based or temperature-based. States such as Alabama and Arizona utilize a temperature-based moratorium of 32 degrees while Connecticut, along with other states, utilize a date-based moratorium from November 1 through May 1. Other states, like Arkansas, use both.

Since the COVID pandemic, moratoriums have gone into effect around the country outside of the typical date-based or temperature-based protection periods. A live view of these changes and updates is available on the LIHEAP Clearinghouse website, made possible by The Energy and Policy Institute.

To learn more about temperature and date-based utility moratoriums in your area, visit the LIHEAP Clearinghouse Disconnect Policies webpage.